Robert Cartwright, a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada; and Hon. Gérald Fauteux, a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada: to be Deputies of His Excellency the Governor General. Oct. 1, Frederick Thomas Mace, Assistant Deputy Minister of Veterans Affairs: to be Director of Soldier Settlement and Director, the Veterans' Land Act. effective Oct. 5, 1959. Oct. 5, Hon. D. C. Abbott, Hon. Robert Martland, Hon. Wilfred Judson and Hon. Roland A. Ritchie, Puisne Judges of the Supreme Court of Canada: to be Deputies of His Excellency the Governor General. Oct. 6, Hon. Ivan Cleveland Rand: to be a Commissioner under Part I of the Inquiries Act to inquire into and make recommendations concerning the Canadian Coal Producing Industry. Oct. 8, John P. Abel, District Registrar of the Supreme Court and Registrar in Bankruptcy, Vancouver, B.C.: to be Official Receiver for Bankruptcy Division No. 3, of the District of British Columbia. Oct. 15. Maurice Robitaille: to be Assistant Deputy Custodian and Counsel under the provisions of the Treaty of Peace (Germany) Order, 1920, and the Treaties of Peace (Austria and Bulgaria) Order, 1921, and the Trading with the Enemy (Transitional Powers) Act (SC 1947, c.4), effective Oct. 15, 1959. Nov. 5, Louis de la Chesnaye Audette, Chairman of the Tariff Board; Guy Favreau, Q.C., Assistant Deputy Minister of Justice; Hayim Caloff; Gaspard Côté; John Douglas Lambert; Edythe Irene MacDonald; Raymond Roger: Thurlow Bradbrooke Smith; Roger Tassé; and Gary Alexander Holland, advisory Counsel of the Department of Justice: to be Commissioners to take and administer oaths in Canada. 1960. Jan. 2, Her Highness The Princess Alexandra of Kent: to be Colonelin-Chief of The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada. Jan. 7, Harry Hussy, Sheet Harbour, N.S.: to be a member of the Pilotage Authority for the Pilotage District of Sheet Harbour, N.S. Jan. 14, Robert W. Pawley, B.S.A., London, Ont.: to be the Director of Soldier Settlement and Director, the Veterans' Land Act, effective Jan. 15, 1960, vice F. T. Mace. Jan. 14, Lieutenant Colonel David Currie, V.C.: to be Sergeant-at-Arms of the House of Commons, vice Lieutenant Colonel W. J. Franklin, resigned. Jan. 25, Esmond Unwin Butler, Ottawa, Ont.: to be Deputy of His Excellency the Governor General for the purposes of signing certain documents. Jan. 28, William David Sutherland, Registrar in Bankruptcy, Prince Rupert, B.C.: to be Official Receiver for Bankruptcy Division No. 1 of the District of British Columbia. J.-V. Tremblay, Q.C., Alma, Que.: to be a Commissioner to investigate charges of political partisanship against T.-L. Paradis, Civilian Personnel Officer, RCAF Station, Mont Apica, Que. Jan. 29, Andrew Maxwell Henderson: to be the Auditor General of Canada from Mar. 1, 1960. Feb. 4, Hon. Thane Alexander Campbell, Chief Justice of Prince Edward Island: to be Administrator of the Government of Prince Edward Island during the absence, illness or other inability of the Lieutenant-Governor. Feb. 11, Hon. John Babbitt McNair, Chief Justice of New Brunswick: to be Administrator of the Government of New Brunswick during the absence, illness or other inability of the Lieutenant-Governor. Hon. William Melville Martin, Chief Justice of Saskatchewan: to be the Administrator of the Government of Saskatchewan, during the absence, illness or other inability of the Lieutenant-Governor. Feb. 18, Bernard J. B. Morahan, Registrar in Bankruptcy, Victoria, B.C.: to be Official Receiver for Bankruptcy Division No. 2, of the District of British Columbia. Stanley Martin Carling, Registrar in Bankruptcy, Prince George, B.C.: to be Official Receiver for Bankruptcy Division No. 6, of the District of British Columbia. Feb. 25, J. P. Leopold Flynn, New Carlisle, Que.: to be a Commissioner to investigate charges of political partisanship against Constance D. Langlois, Postmistress at Port Daniel East, Que. Mar. 31, Justice J. V. Milvain, Supreme Court of Alberta: to be chairman of a federal conciliation board to deal with the contract dispute between the railways and the non-operating unions. Apr. 28, Rear Admiral H. S. Rayner: to be Chief of the Naval Staff, effective Aug. 1, 1960, vice Vice-Admiral H. G. DeWolf, retired. Apr. 29, T. F. W. Embleton, National Research Council; S. Berman, National Research Council; and G. H. Faye, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys: to be Assay Commissioners to examine and test coins of the currency of Canada struck at the Royal Canadian Mint during the year 1959. May 5, J.-Emile Vézina, a Deputy Clerk of the Magistrate's Court, Quebec, Que.: to be Deputy Registrar of the Exchequer Court